Main content of the website

Our Government

  • font size:A
  • A
  • A

Welcome to the Rural Municipality of Springfield, Manitoba's first rural municipality and one of its largest. Established in 1873, Springfield stretches from urban industrial development on the eastern boundary of the City of Winnipeg, through urban, rural residential, agricultural and natural landscapes, to the Agassiz Provincial Forest on the municipality's eastern boundary.


The Rural Municipality of Springfield provides high quality municipal services to our community through effective leadership, fiscal responsibility, and safe sustainable operating practices.


Springfield has it all!

An inclusive "community of communities" which respects and embraces the views and lifestyles of people of all ages and all walks of life. 

We enjoy pristine water sources, a sustainable natural environment, the unparalleled beauty of Birds Hill Park and a wide range of recreational opportunities including a rich equestrian way of life.

From rural to small-town living with modern urban amenities, we offer a variety of lifestyle choices.

Our robust and diverse agricultural base is complemented by a thriving economy and a sustainable, resilient infrastructure.  This, combined with our community-orientated governance and high-quality municipal services, makes Springfield the IDEAL place to live, work, play and stay.


The following guiding principles define the culture, behaviours and actions be exemplified by government, administration and community members of Springfield.

Accountability, Transparency, Fairness and Integrity, Lead by example, Safety, Public Service and Teamwork.